Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

Paul Cullen (1803 - 1878):
Archbishop, Roman Catholic

Paul Cullen was born in Prospect, County Kildare, and was educated in Rome and ordained as a priest in 1829. He later became the Vice-Rector and then Rector of the Irish College in Rome. He was appointed Archbishop of Armagh in 1849 and a year later presided over the Synod of Thurles which recommended the establishment of a Catholic university. Two years later he was translated to Dublin. He became the first Irish cardinal in 1866. Four years later at the Vatican Council, he formulated the definition of papal infallibility. He was also Apostolic Delegate. He opposed the Young Irelanders and the Fenians. He founded the Catholic University, Clonliffe seminary and the Mater Misericordiae Hospital in Dublin, as well as churches, convents and schools.

Born: 29 April 1803
Died: 24 October 1878
Kate Newmann