Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

Francis Stewart Leland Lyons (1923 - 1983):
Historian and writer

F. S. L. Lyons was born in Derry and was educated at Tunbridge Wells, the High School, Dublin and Trinity College, Dublin. He was a lecturer in history at Hull University and at Trinity College, Dublin, before becoming Professor of History at Kent University in 1964. In 1969 he was appointed Master of Eliot College on the Kent University campus. He became Provost of Trinity College, Dublin in 1974, but in 1981 he relinquished the post in order to devote himself to writing. He won the Ewart-Biggs Memorial Prize and the Woolfson Literary Prize for History for his book Culture and Anarchy in Ireland, 1890-1939, published in 1979. Five universities awarded him honorary doctorates. He was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and of the British Academy and was Visiting Professor at Princeton University. Among his other publications are The Fall of Parnell; Charles Stewart Parnell, which won the Heinemann Prize in 1978; John Dillon, a Biography and Ireland since the Famine. He died in Dublin.

Born: 11 November 1923
Died: 21 September 1983
Kate Newmann