Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

Cahir Healy (1877 - 1970):

Cahir Healy was born in Mountcharles, County Donegal, but at an early age moved to Enniskillen, County Fermanagh. He worked as a journalist with the Fermanagh News. He joined Sinn Fein in 1905 and in May 1922 was arrested and interned in Belfast Lough on board the prison ship Argenta. He was later moved to Larne workhouse and published articles about the appalling conditions there in the Sunday Express. The Westminster constituency of Fermanagh and Tyrone elected him Sinn Fein member of parliament in 1922, but he was not released to take up his office until 1924. In 1925 he was elected Nationalist member of parliament at Stormont for Fermanagh, and he held the seat for forty years. From 1950 to 1955 he again became a member of the Westminster parliament. Cahir Healy was a prolific writer and had many of his articles and letters published in newspapers. He produced a volume of poems, The Lane of the Thrushes, with Cathal O'Byrne, and also a novel and a children's story.

Born: 2 December 1877
Died: 8 February 1970
Kate Newmann