Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

Rev William Bruce DD (1757 - 1841):
Cleric, Presbyterian

William Bruce was born in Dublin and was educated there at Trinity College. He was ordained in the Presbyterian Church and was Principal of Belfast Academy for over twenty years; his impact there was so strong that it became known as "Bruce's Academy". An active Volunteer, he took part in the National Convention at the Rotunda, Dublin 1783, as a delegate elected by the town of Carrickfergus and on at least one occasion he conducted a service dresed in full Volunteer Uniform. With Henry Joy, he compiled Belfast Politics: a collection of the debates, resolutions and other proceedings of that town in the years 1792 and 1793. He was opposed to the United Irishmen and in 1798 he served in the Belfast Yeomanry (a body raised by the government and loyal to it); linked to this was his opposition to the new Belfast Academical Institution which was founded in 1810 An historian and theologian, he was an original member and frequent (elected) office holder of the Belfast Literary Society: President in 1802, 1804, 1809, 1814 and 1828; Vice-President in 1801 (these positions having a single-year tenure). During his membership he read over some 22 papers on a wide range of subjects, including ancient history, modern literature, metaphysics, linguistics and moral philosophy. He was also a founder member of the Unitarian Society.

Born: 30 July 1757
Died: 27 February 1841
Kate Newmann

Additional research by Richard Froggatt (amendment 26.2.2014)