Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

George Stone (c.1708 - 1764):
Archbishop, Church of Ireland

George Stone was born in London and was educated at Westminster School and Christ Church, Oxford. After he had taken holy orders he came to Dublin as chaplain to the Lord Lieutenant, the Duke of Dorset. In 1733 he became Dean of Ferns, and in 1734 Dean of Derry. In 1740 he became Bishop of Ferns and Leighlin, and in 1743 Bishop of Kildare and Dean of Christ Church. He was appointed Bishop of Derry in 1745, and Archbishop of Armagh, Lord Justice and a member of the Irish Privy Council in 1747. In 1758 he was again appointed Lord Justice and, with the Earl of Shannon and John Ponsonby, was responsible for the government of Ireland until 1765.

Born: c.1708
Died: 19 December 1764
Kate Newmann