Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

Cahir O'Doherty (1587 - 1608):
Irish chieftain

Cahir O'Doherty was Lord of Inishowen and knighted for his bravery in the Battle of Augher. He was received in London by Queen Elizabeth I and had his territorial rights confirmed. When he returned to Ireland he was made Justice of the Peace and alderman of the new city of Derry. He was foreman of the jury that found those participating in the Flight of the Earls in 1607 guilty of treason. The Governor of Derry, Sir George Paulet, charged O'Doherty of treason and in 1608 struck him during an argument. O'Doherty killed Paulet, slaughtered the garrison and sacked and burnt Derry. A force which was dispatched from Dublin shot him at the Rock of Doon near Kilmacrenan, County Donegal.

Born: 1587
Died: 5 July 1608
Kate Newmann