Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

John Patrick Basil Higgins (1927 - 1993):

Eoin Higgins was born in Magherafelt, County Londonderry. He was educted at St Columb's College, the Christian Brothers' School, Derry and at Queen's University, Belfast. In 1948 he was called to the Bar and in 1967 became Queen's Counsel, having served in the county courts of Armagh, Fermanagh and Antrim. In 1982 he became recorder of Belfast. He became a judge of the High Court of Northern Ireland in 1984, and was in charge of the Family Division. He was the target of several assassination attempts, and his home was attacked in 1987. As a Puisne Judge, he had heard a number of controversial appeals, such as those of the UDR Four, and the Supergrasses Case. He first came into prominence at the Bar with the Scarman Tribunal, which inquired into the causes of the riots in 1969. He was President of the Welfare Society of St Vincent de Paul, and was governor for St Joseph's College, Belfast and the Dominican Convent in Portstewart. He was knighted in 1988 and he served from 1989 to 1993 as Deputy Chairman of the Boundary Commission for Northern Ireland.

Born: 14 June 1927
Died: 2 September 1993
Kate Newmann

Richard Froggatt