Sam Hanna Bell Samuel Beckett John Hewitt Bernard (Barney) Hughes James Joseph Magennis VC Frances Elizabeth Clarke Stewart Parker William Carleton Rosamond Praegar

William D. Flackes (1921 - 1993):

W. D. Flackes was born in Burt, County Donegal. He worked for a number of local newspapers, including the Fermanagh News and the Derry Standard, before he joined the staff of the Belfast News-Letter. From 1947 to 1957 he moved to Westminster as a parliamentary reporter for the press association. Later he worked as chief leader writer and news editor for the Belfast Telegraph. He was the BBC's Northern Ireland political correspondent from 1964 to 1982, when he retired. He was awarded the OBE in 1981. He published science fiction and biographies and a political directory of Northern Ireland. He was buried in Lisburn, County Antrim.

Born: 14 March 1921
Died: 1 August 1993
Kate Newmann